In 1981, over 50 local physicians banded together to create a Physicians’ Security and Benefit plan. The primary goals were:
Provide affordable health insurance to employees, physicians and their families
Upon the death of a physician, provide insurance for the spouse and children of the physician
Use each others’ premium dollars to pay claims for those physicians and their family members who had serious medical conditions
To provide a premium-rating schedule that did not discriminate against those physicians and their employees who had incurred large medical claims
Avoid implementing “gatekeeper” type “managed care” features
Promote access to virtually all providers in and out of the state
Establish a stable alternative to those carriers who often abandon the insurance marketplace

Summaries of Benefits and Coverage (SBC) - 2014 Plan Year

Coming Soon

The "Plan" continues to provide comprehensive coverage for our eligible physicians, employees, and family members. We are proud to have been one of the Plan’s "Trustees".



Edmund T. Strickland, MD
Henry Harrell, Jr., MD
Samuel L. Renfroe, MD
Charles E. Jordan, MD
William E. Chambers, MD

Stephen E. Fischer, MD
Karl Altenburger, MD*
Charles E. Jordan, MD
Christopher Grainger, MD* 
Frank Cannon, MD
Luis Carrascosa, MD
George Stewart, MD


David Lammermeier, MD
David McFaddin, MD
Daniel Robertson, MD
Jose Gaudier, MD
Chander Samy, MD
Thomas J. Fuller, MD

Douglas R. Murphy, MD
Richard B. VanEldik, MD
Lance Trigg, MD
Mark Yap, MD
Richard A. Smith, MD
Joseph C. Webster, MD
Norman H. Anderson, MD
Gary M. Wright, MD
Henry Harrell, Jr., MD
James H. Rogers, MD
Melvin Seek, MD
David Willis, MD
Rolando Prieto, MD
James McLaughlin, MD

William A. Trice, MD
David S. Whittaker, MD

John P. Nardandrea, MD
Jay J. Rubin, MD
Ravi Chandra, MD
Edward King, MD

*Trustee at large

Plan Sponsor- Marion County Medical Society, Inc.- 352-732-8883

Administrative Offices- 352-622-9124, 800-622-9124

104 SE 1st Ave., Suite A, Ocala, FL 34471

P.O. Box 270, Ocala FL 34478